Follow by Email

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Land of Dragor

ISBN: 978-1782199243
September 4, 2014
Amazon Link
*I was given an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Land of Dragor follows a young dragon named Yoshiko. Bullied for being different, he dreams of being normal. When he meets an elder dragon named Guya, Yoshiko is given the ultimate opportunity to forgo a mission. But first, he must pass the trial that will prove he has the wisdom, fitness and bravery needed to complete the mission. 

First of all, I LOVE the name Yoshiko, plus add in the fact that its about a colony of dragons and I am all in! This book was a really cute coming of age story. Intended for a younger audience but can be read at any age. I recommend this to every tween/teen/adult who like paranormal fantasy novels.


Have you read Land of Dragor? Wasn't it a cute read? Comment below and tell me what you think! Also, sign up for my email newsletter at https://groups.google.com/d/forum/mandemread, follow me on Twitter @Miaswartz1 and add me to your Circle on Google Plus at mimizane@gmail.comCheck in every two weeks for more updates and posts!


Published by M

Fiendish

ISBN: 9781595146380
August 14, 2014
Amazon Link 
 ***I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review***

Trapped in a cellar from a powerful spell, Clementine DeVore was found by a boy named Fisher. Ten years prior in New South Bend, strange and different things began to happen. The towns people became worried and burned Clementine's house down. All grown up now with no memory of the past years, Clementine begins her journey to find out the truth.   


I was ecstatic to finally have won a young adult (YA) book from Penguin's First-To-Read program. But to be honest, I'm not really a fan of Ms. Yovanoff's work. I wasnt able to finish the The Replacement duology, so I was hesitant going into this read. At first, I loved the mystery and the characters. The first fifty pages were creepy, enticing and vivid; I couldn't read fast enough. However, as the story progressed I became bored. I kept zoning out, the mystery was dull and slow. I was craving more of the goriness and creepy bewitching stuff.


This cover is one of the most fitting covers I have seen for a YA book.The quality of the picture looks HD. I really adore this cover. 


Ultimately, if you've read and enjoyed this author's previous work, this is a great addition. If you have not, I would recommend Fiendish to R.L Stine fans. 


Have you read this author's previous work? Leave a comment below! Sign up for my email newsletter at https://groups.google.com/d/forum/mandemread, and follow me on Twitter @Miaswartz1, and add me to your Circle on Google Plus at mimizane@gmail.com. Check in every two weeks for more updates and posts! This review can also be seen on First-To-Read.



Published by M

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Cover Reveal!

Available this September, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is a vivid contemporary novel from Young Adult author David James.  Lyrical and romantic, BETWEEN THE STARS AND SKY is a heart-stopping, contemporary read for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and David


SYNOPSIS: "In the small, lakeside town of Huntington, the Firelight Festival marks the end of summer. A time to laugh, to live, to love. And for Jackson Grant, it is a chance to begin again. 

 But there is a darker side to the Firelight Festival, a deadly tradition known as the Firelight Fall. A secret game. A legendary lie. A test of bravery. Those who fall risk everything, and Jackson is on the edge. Until he meets a girl who pushes him over. 

 For Jackson, falling for Sarah Blake might be as dangerous as jumping in the Firelight Fall. As summer burns away, Jackson and Sarah ignite an unstoppable love game. For her, his heart is on fire. And soon, Sarah shows him life, saves him from loss, and opens his heart to an infinite and wild love found between the stars and sky."

SEPTEMBER 2014
FIND THE PLACE WHERE LOVE IS INFINITE

David James writes books about stars and kisses and curses. He is the author of the YA novel, LIGHT OF THE MOON, the first book in the Legend of the Dreamer duet, as well as the companion novellas, THE WITCH'S CURSE and THE WARRIOR’S CODE. A Legend of the Dreamer anthology, SHADES OF THE STARS, was released July 2013, and includes the exclusive novella, THE ENCHANTER'S FIRE. The final book in the duet, SHADOW OF THE SUN, will be released in 2015. Living in Michigan, he is addicted to coffee, gummy things, and sarcastic comments. David enjoys bad movies, goofy moments, and shivery nights. Visit David’s blog at djamesauthor.blogspot.com and facebook at facebook.com/djamesauthor to learn more about his novels.


Published by M




Thursday, July 3, 2014

The Vault of Dreamers Review

ISBN: 978-1596439382
September 16, 2014
Amazon Link 

*An ARC was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Rosie Sinclair is one of the selected hundred to attend The Forge School. However, only fifty people of the hundred entered actually stay. The public audience decides who stays and who goes, through a ranking system. Strict rules are enforced on the students. For example, sleeping pills are taken to help the students perform better and learn faster in class. But something isnt quite right at The Forge School. Rosie Sinclair is on a mission to find out what exactly that something is. First step, stop taking the pills.  

I read this in one sitting. I was hooked from the chapter sampler and was very happy to be given an ARC copy. I enjoy boarding school settings and this novel did not disappoint. The cover is not the most eye catching (pun intended) but the title sure is! I have a fascination with the concept of dreaming,  a subject that has never really been done in YA novels.When it comes to dreaming, this series could go in any direction  and I am really excited to see where the twists and turns lead to in the forthcoming books. 

I would recommend this to fans of Haven by Kristi Cook.

This was my first Caragh O'Brien read. I have heard great things about her Birthmarked trilogy and own it in paperback. I will definitely give them a try.

Are you a fan of Caragh O'Brien's work? Get excited for Vault of Dreamers! Leave a comment below! Sign up for my email newsletter at https://groups.google.com/d/forum/mandemread, and follow me on Twitter @Miaswartz1, and add me to your Circle on Google Plus at mimizane@gmail.comCheck in every two weeks for more updates and posts!

Published by M